OT: Judged for not wanting a baby

lhollywood
on 8/29/11 12:36 pm
 I apologize in advance if this is a little muddled.  I am an OB nurse.  I deal with women having babies day in and day out.  I love my job, and love the fact that babies make lots of couples happy, but it's never been something I've wanted for myself.  I see the downside and all the trauma that happens and I just don't want a child.  I love other peoples kids but like the fact that they don't come home with me.  My co-workers are constantly asking when my husband and I will have a baby, and I say probably not anytime soon.  Well tonight my husband and I were watching some tv and this couple with kids was on.  And out of nowhere my husband told me that if I don't eventually want to have a baby we probably won't stay together. That kids are something he wants in the next few years.. I am stunned because I've always been upfront about my not wanting any kids.  And now he doesn't understand why I don't feel like talking anymore.  Is this normal?  I feel like if I don't pop out a kid I'm going to have to go through a divorce or something.  It's basically a lose lose situation for me.... Anyone else had a similar situation??
 "Maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. Maybe, you have to let go of who you were to become who you will be..."              
Sara L.
on 8/29/11 12:57 pm
Wow, what a surprise for you!  And what a cruel ultimatum for him to make. 

I vote for marriage counseling asap.  Clearly this is a serious issue for both of you, respecting each other's opinions is one of the hardest parts of marriage....isn't it!?

Good luck! 

Sara (no kids, no regrets)
Zeigled
on 8/29/11 12:58 pm - Parkton, MD