"Only" 90ish pounds to lose

SAVAGE
on 9/7/11 2:37 am - Howell, NJ
MEZ
on 9/7/11 1:40 am - Wilmington, NC
I am 5'5" and 229.

I am in the first steps towards RNY. I've been approved by the surgeon, but now need to attend my nutrition classes (2) and have my psych evaluation before I can go back and get insurance clearance and a surgery date.

I have high blood pressure, sleep apnea, and heel/knee issues caused by my weight.  I do not want more issues. I do not want to be pre-diabetic. I want to be pro-active. I have been trying for a lifetime to lose weight.

I have no qualms about this being the right choice for me.  But WOW the responses I get from the few people I have told...  Not heavy enough. Why not just exercise. Etc. etc.

So I've shut up.

So those of you who had less than 100 lbs. to lose, did you tell people about the surgery?  How fast did you lose post-RNY?

I don't feel it's the business of my employees (I am a manager), but the same time I don't want them to think I'm dying from cancer or something. How did you handle the rapid weight loss?

Thanks so much....
Ellen
(deactivated member)
on 9/7/11 1:53 am
 i was considered a light weight too.My drs weight goal for me was 85 lbs.my personal goal is 100.i didnt tell too many people.7 in total.when people ask i tell them diet and exercise which is not a lie.i live in a small town so i didnt want the rumor mill going.I am also 5'5 and have lost 70ish lbs since my sugery on may 26 of this year.
way to go on choosing to do this. i hope my comments help

Newfie99999
CarolC8235
on 9/7/11 1:59 am