Pre- Op struggle

Awakening
on 10/5/11 4:04 am - GA
I am having surgery next week. I am suppose to be doing high protein shakes to replace meals. I have not been successful and I only have a week to go. Any suggestions? I was really hungry when I tried to just do the shakes
poet_kelly
on 10/5/11 4:09 am - OH
I suggest doing the shakes and being hungry.  Hunger doesn't feel real good, but it won't hurt you.

I suggest calling your surgeon's office if you do not follow the recommended pre-op diet and asking for advice, as well.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Awakening
on 10/5/11 4:43 am - GA
I will be having surgery Tuesday but I have been eating at least one meal because I have been hungry. What shakes are you doing?
poet_kelly
on 10/5/11 4:50 am - OH
Yes, I understand from your post that you were not following your surgeon's recommended diet because you were hungry.  My suggestion is to follow the recommended diet even if you are hungry.  I realize that's not easy, but I believe that would be the best thing to do.  I also think you should notify your surgeon that you have not been following the recommended diet and see what he advises.

I don't do shakes very often now.  I am almost three years post op and usually get plenty of protein from food that I eat.  For my pre op diet, I used Atkins ready to drink shakes.  When I do use shakes now, I use a variety.  I like Chike and BSN Lean Dessert protein powders and I like Oh Yeah! ready to drink shakes and Isopure smoothies ready to drink.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly