Lost my way...outta control!

(deactivated member)
on 3/6/12 9:05 am
I'm sorry to hear you're struggling so much after reaching your goal! You should be proud of yourself for what you've accomplished. I'm a newbie since I'm only 6 weeks out from my RNY but one thing I've heard that works is that when  you get a craving, decide to wait 20 minutes and see if you still want it. Much of the time, you will be distracted by something else and the temptation will pass. If it doesn't, you measure out a small serving of whatever it is and that's all you get. I'm sure it's not easy to do and that's one of the reasons I had to resort to surgery for weight loss but maybe it will help if you delay eating? Just a thought. You can do this! You seem very determined to overcome this.
Shelly S.
on 3/6/12 9:38 am - Mason, MI
Hey Katie,
Wow! You have got some really great support and advice in this thread-----it was helpful just reading the advice of the others and "feelin' the love".

I had a couple of ideas for the cravings and the hungry feeling . . .I have been battling them for a few weeks and I have stumbled upon a few that really do work.

1. I read that a woman burns 300 additional calories daily in the week or so before her TOM, so keep track and add a serving of something healthy if you are hungry or obsessing. Dense protein like tuna or chicken can keep you feeling full.
2. Add fiber powder to your food if it is a slider or to your drinks, it helps you feel full longer.
3. Focus on variety, in color, texture, and taste. I eat at least 1 salad daily with things like: LF shredded cheese, lettuce, chopped cabbage, cukes, dried edemame, seaweed sheets (trader joes), cottage cheese, meat, salsa, mustard, pickles---things that pop with flavor and texture and crunch--- this leaves me satisfied and full.