Time off after surgery

icnside
on 5/23/12 9:04 am - Chesapeake, VA
I am really wondering about time off after surgery. I am pretty sure my doctor will say 2 weeks. I want to take 4, but I am not sure FMLA will cover it. My time off will be without pay either way. I am an ultrasound tech and my job can be quite demanding. Once I go back, I will have to 100% immediately, including being pleasant to patients - LOL! I would appreciate any feedback about how long you took off, how good/bad you felt when you went back, and if anyone knows about FMLA ( can I take time without the doc saying so) - I would love to here from you!

MaleNurse78
on 5/23/12 9:10 am - Bossier City , LA
 I am not sure about your company but the company I work for requires anyone who is going to be out more than 5 days to file for FMLA. I know alot of people on here differ for the amount of time they take off after surgery. I guess my case is pretty rare but I could be wrong. I had my surgery on a Monday and was back to work the following Monday, although i did cheat and work from home the Friday following surgery. i am currently 9 days post-op and feel just as good as before surgery really no pain at all. I took 2 pain pills since leaving the hospital, just the first night and that was it. But as I said I am more than likly the rare bird. LOL you and only you will know when your body is ready to go back to work. 

icnside
on 5/23/12 9:13 am - Chesapeake, VA
I am hoping and praying that will happen to me. Unfortunately, I tend to follow Murphy's law for most of my existence!

MissLisaD
on 5/23/12 9:18 am - CA
RNY on 05/31/12