Fluids = Nausea

Deb331
on 7/9/12 5:14 am - GA
RNY on 05/14/12
Everything I drink makes me nauseous. It's already 3pm and I've consumed less than 20 oz. how am I going to get 44 more in by EOD? Yesterday I only consumed 12 oz all day. I'm afraid I'm going to dehydrate soon. 

poet_kelly
on 7/9/12 5:20 am - OH
I imagine you are already somewhat dehydrated, which would explain why you are nauseous.  Dehydration causes nausea.  If you can't get more fluids in, you probably need to go to the ER for IV fluids.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kay L.
on 7/9/12 5:22 am - N., AL
You may already be dehydrated, hence the nausea. You just have to keep trying. If you're nauseated, but keeping the fluids down, then keep doing it. However, if you're vomiting, you need to call the doctor.
Deb331
on 7/9/12 5:51 am - GA
RNY on 05/14/12
No vomiting fortunately. I'll keep trying and if I keep having problems I'll call my doctor. Thanks for the advice.
hedrider
on 7/9/12 7:45 am - Midlothian, TX
 Lack of fluids = nausea.  You are most likely dehydrated, which will cause nausea, which will in turn cause you to drink less.  It's a vicious cycle.  Do you have any Zofran?
Heather
Since 2008 my team has raised over $42,000 to fight breast cancer.

Deb331
on 7/9/12 8:15 am - GA
RNY on 05/14/12
I do. I just have to remember where I put it. Thanks for the reminder.
poet_kelly
on 7/9/12 8:19 am - OH