how soon to travel?

vogel_girl
on 7/11/12 11:22 am
Has anyone take a long trip after their surgery? My husband was talking about while I"m recovering that we take a trip to see his cousins which is 12-13 hours from where we live. I was just curious if anyone else has done a road trip after surgery???
poet_kelly
on 7/11/12 11:25 am - OH
I didn't and I wouldn't have wanted to.  I would have wanted to be within  easy driving distance of my surgeon in case problems arose, plus I would not have felt like spending much time in the car, plus I had horrible diarrhea for a few days, plus I was nauseous a lot, plus I was on such a limited diet that traveling would have been difficult.  Is your husband thinking you will come home from the hospital feeling great?  Is he aware you'll probably need to take pain medication and maybe meds for nausea and you'll be tired?  It does not sound like a good idea to me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

vogel_girl
on 7/11/12 11:26 am
it wouldn't be right away maybe like 3 weeks later.
MBsRNY
on 7/11/12 11:36 am - Baltimore, MD
If it was the kind of trip where you could have easy access to the limited sorts of food you'll be able to have and could easily be cancelled or truncated if you aren't feeling well, I would consider it.

Most people don't have big problems after the surgery (not enough to need to see the surgeon again, at least) and by 3 weeks out you may be feeling just fine. I was and a lot of others too. At 3 weeks I wasn't up to a 5 mile hike, but I wasn't in any pain and was back to work, walking a couple of miles a day and doing everything else normally. I was still on pureed/soft foods though.
BWB
on 7/11/12 12:49 pm