Question for the Vets 2+ years...

poet_kelly
on 7/16/12 12:58 pm - OH
Yeah, the bottomless pit thing is gone.  I felt like a bottomless pit almost all the time.  It took an immense amount of food for me to feel satisfied.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/16/12 12:52 pm - OH
I am one of the ones who never got a traditional hunger sensation back (and at 5 years out, I seriously doubt that it is ever coming back). My blood sugar drops precipitously, though, if I go too long without eating, so my "hunger" signal is lightheadedness and shaking. 

Generally, people who DO get physically hungry say that if you eat plenty of dense protein, you can keep the hunger at bay.  Dense protein (chicken, beef, tuna) definitely holds me much longer than a less dense protein (soft fish, crab) or a "slider" protein (yogurt).

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Mary Catherine
on 7/16/12 5:00 pm

I still have not been hungry since my RNY in 2007.  It is a wonderful feeling.  I do eat and have to convince myself to eat more than I actually want sometimes.  I eat when I am not interested in the food just to avoid any low blood sugar incidents.

Mal
on 7/16/12 9:11 pm