Surgery in 6 days

ashleym6888
on 8/24/12 8:17 pm - CA
RNY on 08/30/12 with
 I'm very nervous I just told my family tonight and got mixed feelings from them all. I'm scared because I'm a nurse so I know how the or and recovery room is.  My anxiety is very hard. Should I be this scared ?
cajungirl
on 8/24/12 8:21 pm
What you are feeling is normal.. Sure there could be complications, the chances are there stastically you won't be one of them.

Being a nurse I'm sure you know more than the average Joe. You selected your surgeon for a reason. Trust your decision.

Best wishes.

Proximal RNY Lap - 02/21/05

9 years committed ~  100% EWL and Maintaining

www.dazzlinglashesandbeyond.com

(deactivated member)
on 8/24/12 8:44 pm, edited 8/24/12 1:45 am
It's always worse when you work in the medical field! You are much more aware of how the human body works, how surgery works. Because of this knowledge our mind gets carried away. I am 59 and had my surgery in May and I still was a wreck. Yes you are so normal in your feelings and emotions right now. The week before surgery I requested from my doctor a week's worth of Xanax to help me get through until surgery was over. I believed it saved me from having high anxiety. I have never had surgery and let me tell you, my mind was going every which way. Happy one minute crying the next. One minute I was going to have the surgery, the next minute I was going to cancel it. I was all over the place. Took me a year to complete my process and even though I received alot of wonderful info, I believe a year was too much to wait and think about surgery at least for me. Talk to your PCP and tell him what is going on. You may not want the option of meds for a short time but I feel it helped me tremendously. Having the surgery is the best thing I have ever done for myself. So I wish you the best. Come on here 50 times a day if you have to for support. We will be here. Jane
ashleym6888
on 8/24/12 10:05 pm - CA
RNY on 08/30/12 with