Scary Stuff!! Kind of long..but please read I need advice.

Megan S.
on 10/19/12 3:02 am, edited 10/19/12 3:02 am - Baltimore, MD
RNY on 03/07/13
Ok..I'm looking and searching and researching every little thing I can find out about RNY. I have read great inspirational stories that make me want to do this today. Then I have read things that are just terrifying that happen years down the road after RNY that no one ever anticipated happening to them. I just don't know what to think. How do you know that these terrible things won't happen to you. I know they say that some of the complications are very rare..but what if I'm that 1% that it happens to?
 PLEASE NO ONE TAKE THIS THE WRONG WAY!!! I'm not having any medical issues now. I have been dieting and exercising for 6 years and lost 100lbs by myself. My problem is I gained 40 and lose 20 of it then continue to gain that 20 back, lose it again. I just wanted to finally be a normal weight. I'm thinking that I'm going to go from being fat and healthy to being skinny and sick with other complications from this surgery. I know there is no guarantee...but I just don't know what to think anymore. Am I doing myself worse by reading and researching..or if I do this surgery..will I regret not looking for the what ifs.

Sorry this is so long..this is just the way I'm feeling and this is the only place I know where to look for some advice.

~Megan
kpenn1971
on 10/19/12 3:04 am
Have you thought about doing the Sleeve instead then?

Megan S.
on 10/19/12 3:14 am - Baltimore, MD
RNY on 03/07/13
I have...that was what I wanted to do but my insurance won't cover unless my BMI is over 50. So my only choice is RNY or the band. Def not doing the band.
AlohaJen
on 10/19/12 3:07 am
RNY on 09/05/12