Pre-op liquid diet help!!

Mercyg
on 11/2/12 8:49 pm - Hialeah, FL
RNY on 12/10/12

I start my pre -op liquid diet on the 12th....need some help and suggestions on what people had...I work at night and a little worry about options...... Please help!

poet_kelly
on 11/2/12 9:44 pm - OH

Didn't your surgeon give you a list of what you can have on the pre op diet?  All surgeons seem to have different recommendations, so you need to find out what yours recommends.

As far as working at night, how would that give you fewer options than if you worked days?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

lisajamie
on 11/2/12 10:19 pm

I start my liquid diet tomorrow - I am permitted 4 bariatric shakes per day (prepared with skim milk or water), water/flavored water, propel, crystal lite, ocean spray lite juices (clear), chicken or beef broth...        remember, the purpose of the liquid diet is to shrink your liver for better surgery outocmes!!  You can do it!

Mercyg
on 11/2/12 10:25 pm - Hialeah, FL
RNY on 12/10/12
Thank you... my list is very vague waiting on an reply from my surgeon office with more detail list of things I can have...thanks for how or what you guys are doing
Ruth G.
on 11/2/12 10:55 pm - Grovetown, GA

I am just finishing my 2 week liquid diet, my surgery is Tuesday!  It was difficult at first, I had 2 ensure/high protein shakes a day and 3 oz protein/1 cup low starch veggie at night.  I kept a supply of sugar free jello and sugar free popsicles.  At least I felt like I was still treating myself. When I'd have a bad low energy moment, I'd have a Powerade Zero.  Also, Chicken broth/bouillon, yet stayed low sodium.   You can do it!  Just go 1 day at a time!!!!