Birth Control

bdubs
on 3/31/13 1:12 pm

So as I am getting closer to my surgery date I need to get on some birth control. I have polycystic ovaries and blocked tubes so I have never had to really worry about any of that befor. Does anyone have any suggestions or opinions on what has worked or not worked for them?

poet_kelly
on 3/31/13 1:18 pm - OH

I am currently using condoms and vaginal contraceptive film.  I am concerned about side effects of hormonal methods of birth control, plus my PCP feels they are contraindicated in my case since I have a family history of breast cancer.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

tarsanne
on 3/31/13 1:35 pm - MO
We have used natural family planning for over 20 years. I have taught it to help people avoid and achieve pregnancy. It is totally safe, no side effects, and immediately reversible. That being said we have a strong faith that God knows what He is doing and we are open to His will. I will admit it has been hard at times like when I was nursing and when some of us wanted to (him) and some of said its not a safe day (me). In fact that's how I got my last baby. He wasn't a surprise lol. It was user failure not method failure. Anyway, if you want to pm me I will be happy to tell you anything you want to know if you're interested.
(deactivated member)
on 3/31/13 1:51 pm - NY
I also have polycystic ovaries and before surgery I was using oral contraceptives to help regulate my periods. After surgery, the pills did nothing to regulate my cycle so my doctor switched me to the Depo shot. It seems to be working well and I have had no issues so far.
bdubs
on 3/31/13 1:57 pm