value of therapy

shannonigan
on 5/14/13 4:21 am - Tooele, UT
RNY on 04/30/13
I have decided to take the plunge and start some therapy. I am almost more nervous about this than I was about the surgery. I lost 120lbs years ago in my 20s and most definitely was not prepared for the changes that occur socially. I just really want to do this right this time. Does anyone care to share how therapy has helped? I am not asking anyone to bare their souls or what not, just maybe share some of the benefits?

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 5/14/13 4:31 am - OH

As someone who has been on BOTH sides of the therapy office for a number of years(I am a Licensed Professional Counselor and finishing a Psych PhD, and have been a client for trauma therapy for over 10 years), I think that one of the biggest benefits of therapy is the opportunity to share with someone in a safe, non-judgmental atmosphere what is going on in your head and to have someone who is objective (and trained) help you sort those things out and figure out how to change what needs to be changed, help you look at things from a different perspective when required, and help you see/accept what you can control and what you cannot control (other people). 

In terms of weight issues, it can also be very helpful to identify and work through the psychological/emotional issues that contributed to the obesity and that might pop back up and make maintaining the weight loss more difficult and to identify behavioral patterns that need to be broken (and help you develop strategies fro breaking them that will work for you).

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

poet_kelly
on 5/14/13 6:17 am - OH