4 years post-op and feel very tired..........

poet_kelly
on 7/25/13 9:32 am - OH

Are you taking B12 some other way?  You don't need B12 injections, you can take it sublingually or by nasal spray, but you do need B12.

Some people prefer to do the injections.  You can give them to yourself but you must have a prescription to buy the injectible B12 (you can get it at any pharmacy).

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Nanook609
on 7/25/13 9:34 am

My doctor had me take a "bariatric supplement" 4xs daily which was supposed to cover all the bases but obviously something is out of wack! 

poet_kelly
on 7/25/13 9:37 am - OH

Well, yeah.  I'm guessing you've been taking either Bariatric Fusion or Optisource, and to meet the ASMBS guidelines you'd need EIGHT a day, not four.  Plus you can't absorb the B12 in those because you don't have enough intrinsic factor in your pouch.  You need a sublingual B12, nasal spray, or shots.

You've been getting labs done?  What was your B12 level last time it was checked?  After four years with no B12, it has to be low, probably very low.  If it's below 550, it can make you tired and depressed, cause problems with short term memory, and trouble concentrating.

Also, if you take more than one of those tablets at the same time, the amount of calcium in them will block the absorption of iron in them, which would probably mean your iron would be low.

Have you had a bone density scan recently?  Because you're also not getting enough calcium citrate if you are only taking four of those a day.  I'd get a bone scan ASAP, if you haven't had one lately.

And I'd get a full set of labs right away.