Pills...

Jen75
on 9/4/13 11:54 am
RNY on 07/18/13
Will I ever be able to swallow a pill whole again or will I forever have to crush them? I am 6 weeks post op and very sick of having to taste the disgusting flavor of my daily meds. Please tell me there is light at the end of the tunnel.
Cindy W.
on 9/4/13 12:56 pm - Madison, CT

I am just 4 weeks out, but my surgeon cleared me to swallow pills as long as they are smaller than an M&M.  I have had no problems and was very happy to be done with the gross taste.  Hopefully you can move on soon!

poet_kelly
on 9/4/13 1:17 pm - OH

I don't know of any reason why you would not be able to swallow them now, at six weeks out.  The ASMBS says it's OK to swallow pills as soon as you can tolerate doing so.  I was swallowing pills whole 12 hours after my RNY.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Jen75
on 9/4/13 1:32 pm
RNY on 07/18/13
I tried cutting mine in small pieces and I still have trouble getting it down. I need to drink more than just a sip of water, but every time I do it hurts.
I also wonder if I will be ever able to drink normally again. Some times I forget, and after working out I drink too fast.... Owwww! Is all I can say.
Hopefully as time goes on i will be able to tolerate more things.
Cherokeesage
on 9/4/13 8:40 pm
RNY on 02/24/12