How much do your routine blood tests cost?

Nutmegger
on 10/20/13 6:38 am
I just got a $1,300 Bill for my general labs. Insurance covered $500, guess who needs to cover the rest?!

I can't believe it, for a blood test??

Has anyone else seen this? I'm really floored and can't afford that.

Thanks
poet_kelly
on 10/20/13 6:49 am - OH

I don't think that's for a blood test.  It's for a whole bunch of blood tests. Last time I got labs done, they needed to draw 14 tubes of blood.  They did more than 14 tests.  And yeah, that amount sounds about right.

Do you know why you insurance only covered $500 of it?  Were there some tests they did not cover at all?  My insurance pays 80% of my labs.  Yours paid less than half.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

ebtiger24
on 10/20/13 6:50 am - AL
RNY on 12/13/12 with
I pay about $350. They bill about $1500, but will take what my insurance company would reimburse them for if it were a covered service. I pay upfront.

angeleigh
on 10/20/13 6:53 am - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12

Ya i just had my 1 year post op ones done, and I had to have them done at the hospital since the lab didnt have tubes for the minerals. They submitted over 1900 for all the test. I think it was 14 or 15 test done. My insurance made the hospital write off about 800 of it and now I have to pay the rest of it since I havent meet my 4k out of pocket this year. I have learned to ask for them next year as part of my yearly physical since they cover all ordered lab work at 100% at that visit.

Follow me on Pinterest!  SW/254 HW/276 CW/142  

Pictures: Pre-op, 1 year post op, 2 years post op.

Nutmegger
on 10/20/13 6:59 am