Vitamins

browneyes65
on 1/16/14 4:38 am - IN

It's been 9 days since surgery and I was wondering why it's so hard to swallow pills. I used to have no problem before I could swallow large pills not now, is there a reason ? will it get better ?

blopez579
on 1/16/14 4:43 am, edited 1/16/14 4:43 am
RNY on 09/11/13

It will get better.  I couldn't even drink water like I used to at that time.  I was afraid I would never get a nice, satisfying gulp of water, but I can now, (just not multiple gulps, fast)  and pills are just like they used to be too.

browneyes65
on 1/16/14 8:43 am - IN

how long do you think it takes because it's a job to crush some pills and even little pieces get stuck in my throat, why is that ?

poet_kelly
on 1/16/14 4:44 am - OH

I don't know why.  I didn't have any trouble swallowing pills after surgery.  Is your throat sore from the breathing tube, maybe?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

browneyes65
on 1/16/14 8:40 am - IN

it was gone when I woke up and my throat feels fine.

RNY on 10/21/13

I had this same problem. I specialize in swallowing disorders and I scoured various research trying to find a connection, but came up empty.