Two and a half weeks post op and traveling for work

poet_kelly
on 1/24/14 7:31 pm - OH

Lots of people go back to work after two weeks.  Some sooner.  And many travel that soon or sooner.  Some people have surgery in Mexico and fly home a week afterward.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

SteveWebb
on 1/24/14 10:49 pm - NC

My Surgeon wanted me to go back after two weeks and I told him NO!  I have enough sick leave to take all the time I need.  I understand a lot of people don't, or can't.  I will be taking a month off work.

Jeremiah 29:11 " For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end". 

Qajohn
on 1/25/14 1:05 am - Woodbury, MN
RNY on 01/16/14

I took last week off and went out if my mind with boredom. I'm going  back on a limited  basis next week if for no other reason my sanity. My Dr knows I travel for a living. He told me domestic air travel (3 hrs or less) was ok after two weeks.  He didn't want me taking overseas trips for at least 4 weeks post op. 

The travel and eating out portion of my job scares me the most. I am fortunate in that my company in general and my boss specifically have been very supportive. 

TattooMammaRN
on 1/25/14 4:12 pm

I took a month off work.  I would of taken more if I wasn't transferring.  I only planned for a month.  Take all the time you need!!

JenniPenny
on 1/25/14 2:17 am - MN

For me I was on liquids for the first 3+ weeks. clear at first then all liquids by the second week. Check with your doc as to what you can have.