Fruit?

averybyrd
on 2/7/14 4:24 am

Quick Question: Is fruit allowed on your plan? Was it always, or was it introduced at some point? 

I asked in another thread and was a little surprised at the answers, so I thought I'd ask a wider audience. Just curious!

Thanks!

poet_kelly
on 2/7/14 4:30 am - OH

Yep.  Pureed fruit was allowed when I started pureed foods, which was one week post op.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cunning_Pam
on 2/7/14 4:32 am, edited 2/7/14 4:34 am
RNY on 12/18/13

Not really, but sort of. I was allowed SF applesauce at an earlier stage, but at this point I'm supposed to be eating proteins, veggies if there's room (usually isn't), and IF I have any room after that I can have a bit of fruit (preferably apples or berries of some sort.) Fruit isn't forbidden, per se, but there are other things I'm supposed to be eating first. Maybe someday I'll have room for it!

Surgery: RNY on 12/18/2013 with Jay M. Snow, MD            "Don't mistake my kindness for weakness." - Robert Herjavec, quoting Al Capone

chulbert
on 2/7/14 4:43 am - Rochester, NY
RNY on 01/21/13

My surgeon's lifestyle meal plan - the "this is how you eat forever" plan - recommends 1-3 servings of fruit daily.

(deactivated member)
on 2/7/14 5:19 am
RNY on 12/16/13

My plan includes three fruit servings per day, and started with the puree phase.  I am holding off on fresh fruit, except bananas, until I am three months out.  I have been enjoying sugar-free applesauce, and canned pineapple, mandarin oranges, peaches, and pears (packed in water/juice). 

I continue to be amazed by the variations in plans. 

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 2/7/14 5:38 am - OH