Had my pre-op clearance testing Friday

kayleystar
on 8/10/14 7:55 am
RNY on 01/06/15

Holy moly! I knew there was going to be a few tests, however it ended up being five HOURS of testing! And I am SO glad that portion of this journey is over with. After my testing, I met with the doctor that would clear me to schedule a surgery date. I got good news, and bad news. 

The bad news? I'm not cleared. I still have the pneumonia that I've been fighting for 4 months now. Since I'm able to walk without being out of breath finally, I thought that perhaps it was gone. Unfortunately not. It's getting better, but they are still not happy with how much is left in my lungs. I was told that my doctors made a mistake by not having me admitted to the hospital to treat it via IV, and that if they would have done so, I would have healed up months ago. I have to get another chest xray in one month, and see if there is improvement. 

I was officially diagnosed with high blood pressure (not really a surprise there). However, it's not to the point of needing medication for it, so that's a good thing. Just need to watch my salt intake for now. I also have very high cholesterol. Again, need to watch my cholesterol, and try to get those numbers down. Those things will not prevent me having the surgery, though. 

Lastly, I was told that I'm anemic. My levels are very low. My Vitamin D levels are scary low....like, the lowest that clinic/hospital has seen. It's supposed to be at a 60, and my level? A 6. I have to go on prescription strength Iron pills & Vitamin D to get my levels up before they will clear me for surgery. 

The good news? Once I can get these things done, I'll be cleared for surgery, and the doctor said I'm an excellent patient, due to the low risk factors...no diabetes, no heart problems, etc.