Time to Eat @ Work?

Karen H.
on 8/25/14 7:59 pm
VSG on 12/08/14

I am in the process of getting my required appointments in for my insurance before having my RNY surgery. I am an elementary teacher and my lunch schedule  time is 1:10-1:30. I am worried and wondering how am I going to get my food down in that period of time? Also, I will need snack time since I eat breakfast at 6:00? Any suggestions? Do I need a blender at school for purified foods? Just trying to look at the road ahead before it comes and be prepared. Any suggestions would be so helpful. Thanks!!

poet_kelly
on 8/25/14 9:09 pm - OH

I eat most of my meals in 20 minutes so I think you should be fine.  You will only be eating small amounts in the beginning anyway.

What time does school start?  If lunch isn't until 1:10 I'm guessing maybe 9 or something?  So you could eat a small snack right before you start work.  You could also have a protein shake at your desk in class, I would think.

I'm not sure what your surgeon's meal plan is or how long you will be off work.  I was only on pureed foods for one week, the second week post op.  Most people take at least two weeks off work.  But if you do go back to work while still on pureed foods, I would just puree whatever you need to puree at home rather than try to do that at work.  I didn't actually puree anything myself, I just ate stuff that is already that consistency, like yogurt, refried beans, mashed potatoes, applesauce, ricotta cheese, etc.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

angeleigh
on 8/25/14 9:57 pm - angier, NC
RNY on 09/17/12