A little Help with my return to work?

beachybikegirl
on 8/16/15 12:09 pm

Hi Everyone,

Any advice, help or encouragement would be greatly appreciated.  I return to work tomorrow 7 weeks since surgery, I am a teacher so I was on a natural break from work when I did the surgery.  Typically every summer I lose some weight with just more sleep and relaxation. This time however I will be 31 lbs lighter but I don't really see a big difference.

All the people at school I was close to actually left and won't be returning even my direct boss left.  I'm nervous about questions as well as being slightly disappointed if nobody notices.

Really not sure what to say if people ask, I'm not totally opposed to saying I had the surgery, maybe I am all crazy nervous and nobody will even notice....

Just curious on other's experiences on the big "return to work"

Thanks!

RNY on 6/25/15 Height 5.8 HW/SW 247 CW 142 (Normal BMI 21.5) GW 145

Hit my Goal on 5/1/2016 going for more...

(deactivated member)
on 8/16/15 12:23 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

You're in a little more unusual situation than most since you don't see your coworkers for a couple months out of the year, but just remember, even if people don't say something, it doesn't mean they don't notice -- they might just think it's not their place to comment. I work in healthcare and started getting comments after I lost about 35 lbs, but we're a pretty tight-knit department, and everyone knew of my plan for surgery.

Emiepie
on 8/16/15 12:24 pm
RNY on 08/11/14

I don't have too much advice as I went back to work after 4 weeks and everyone at the office pretty much knew why I had been out. It's going to be your personal preference on how you wish to tell people that may notice your weight loss, from what I have heard at support group as well as reading here is that a simple I'm eating differently seems to do the trick if you want to stay simple. Anyhow, I did want to say good luck and hope that you have an awesome first day back.