I grew up in Poughkeepsie, New York.  My family is 100% Italian, and all aspects of life revolve around food.  My mom's family has a chain of 5 Italian pastry shops in the Bronx and Westchester.  My dad was heavy, and so was I.  In 2000 I graduated High School and moved to Grapevine, Texas, and went to the University of North Texas.  In college, I put on about 40 pounds in a year.  I had depression, and food became my best friend.  I decided to drop out of college, and worked full time.  I worked in retail, hotels, and a call center.  I managed to continue gaining weight.  In 2004, my dad had gastric bypass in New York, and he had great success with it.  I said to myself that I would do it on my own when I was ready.  Eventually I weighed 370 pounds.  I decided to move back to New York to work in Manhattan, and lived with my sister in Brooklyn.  Working in the city without a car, helped me to walk off about 20 pounds.  I moved back to Texas the following winter with hopes to continue losing weight.  This did not turn out to be the case.  I put back on the 20 pounds and another 35.   I was 23 years old, I weighed 405 pounds and lived in Keller, Texas.  I was always exhausted, I sweat all the time, I had high blood pressure.  I was borderline diabetic, I had problems with my liver, and I was scared to death.  I started to research some Bariatric programs in the area.  I found Dr. David Kim's program at North Hill's Hospital in North Richland Hills, TX.  On May 4th, 2005, I went in for my gastric bypass.  4 and a half hours later, after a few minor complications later I woke up in recovery.  I now live in Long Island, NY, and feel absolutely amazing!  I am currently at 240 lbs.  I went from a 56 BMI to a 33.5 currently.

About Me
Euless, TX
Surgery Date
Aug 29, 2004
Member Since

Before & After
rollover to see after photo
This is one week before surgery (April 28, 2005). Pants are a 54 inch waist.
May 20, 2006, 1 year post op. Pants are a 36" waist

Friends 12

Latest Blog 1