David Oliak

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 81 ratings

David Oliak Bariatric Surgeon MD, FACS

16 yr Experience

17 yr in Bariatrics

19 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

17 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

100% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is by case

Max Age of Patient is by case


81 Reviews for David Oliak
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Embarking on July 11 with David on a new chapter in life....confident that his guidance, operation and support will make the big difference for me. onfident with his years of successes helping people. A very good doctor and a very nice person.

June 15, 2016

Overall
avatar

My original review from Jan. 12, 2012:
"I made the decision to have weight loss surgery when I was 19, but it took two years to convince my family that it was what I truly needed to be successful in my weight loss goals. Less than a month after my 21st birthday, I had gastric bypass surgery on September 8, 2010 at the weight of 264 pounds.

In mid-July of that year, I attended my second seminar at the Oliak Center for Weight Loss, this time bringing a parent along with me. Upon seeing the comprehensive program and support system that Dr. Oliak had established, his record of successful operations, the amount of thriving patients in his practice, as well as his obvious compassion and genuine care he had for his patients, the decision was made. However, I had less than two months before I needed to be back at school for my junior year of college.

Dr. Oliak’s staff knew that I needed to be recovered in time to go back to school, and they knew that time was tight to get everything through insurance, follow through on all pre-surgery requirements, and make sure that this surgery was truly the right fit for me.

It has now been 18 months and I am down 110 pounds. I am a runner; yes, I actually enjoy running. I go to bootcamp and am no longer the girl trailing at the back of the pack, but instead am at the lead. I go to spin class and hot yoga on a regular basis, and I thrive on the physical challenges. I have endurance for activities I never thought I could do. My family frequently remarks at my boundless energy. I no longer have to shop in plus size stores, but can shop pretty much anywhere (which, I’ll admit, has had an effect on the size of my wallet).

I will admit that there were some struggles along the way. As I went to school along the Central Coast, I was unable to access all of the remarkable support at my disposal at first, such as the Monday night support group meetings and the six week emotional eating support group class. But every chance I got, I would check in with the office. We would have phone appointments and I’d come in on days I didn’t have class. Everyone in the office did all that they could to ensure that I was not lacking in support. I was eventually able to take advantage of everything offered to me, and I have to say that I consider myself…no, I AM a success.

If it weren’t for the help and support of psychologist Dr. Danielle Garcia who ran the emotional eating class, physician assistant Allison Merriman who saw me during my frequent checkups and recently performed the CoolSculpt application on me, dietician Alexandra Marks who helped me work through my struggles of becoming bored with the same foods, as well as the friendly faces of Melanie, Emily, Esmerelda and Ryan around the office…Dr. Oliak’s entire staff played a pivotal role in my success since my surgery. And I cannot begin to thank them enough for giving a 21-year-old girl the rest of her life back."

Feb. 4, 2015

Overall
avatar

I made the decision to have weight loss surgery when I was 19, but it took two years to convince my family that it was what I truly needed to be successful in my weight loss goals. Less than a month after my 21st birthday, I had gastric bypass surgery on September 8, 2010 at the weight of 264 pounds.

In mid-July of that year, I attended my second seminar at the Oliak Center for Weight Loss, this time bringing a parent along with me. Upon seeing the comprehensive program and support system that Dr. Oliak had established, his record of successful operations, the amount of thriving patients in his practice, as well as his obvious compassion and genuine care he had for his patients, the decision was made. However, I had less than two months before I needed to be back at school for my junior year of college.

Dr. Oliak’s staff knew that I needed to be recovered in time to go back to school, and they knew that time was tight to get everything through insurance, follow through on all pre-surgery requirements, and make sure that this surgery was truly the right fit for me.

It has now been 18 months and I am down 110 pounds. I am a runner; yes, I actually enjoy running. I go to bootcamp and am no longer the girl trailing at the back of the pack, but instead am at the lead. I go to spin class and hot yoga on a regular basis, and I thrive on the physical challenges. I have endurance for activities I never thought I could do. My family frequently remarks at my boundless energy. I no longer have to shop in plus size stores, but can shop pretty much anywhere (which, I’ll admit, has had an effect on the size of my wallet).

I will admit that there were some struggles along the way. As I went to school along the Central Coast, I was unable to access all of the remarkable support at my disposal at first, such as the Monday night support group meetings and the six week emotional eating support group class. But every chance I got, I would check in with the office. We would have phone appointments and I’d come in on days I didn’t have class. Everyone in the office did all that they could to ensure that I was not lacking in support. I was eventually able to take advantage of everything offered to me, and I have to say that I consider myself…no, I AM a success.

If it weren’t for the help and support of psychologist Dr. Danielle Garcia who ran the emotional eating class, physician assistant Allison Merriman who saw me during my frequent checkups and recently performed the CoolSculpt application on me, dietician Alexandra Marks who helped me work through my struggles of becoming bored with the same foods, as well as the friendly faces of Melanie, Emily, Esmerelda and Ryan around the office…Dr. Oliak’s entire staff played a pivotal role in my success since my surgery. And I cannot begin to thank them enough for giving a 21-year-old girl the rest of her life back.

Jan. 12, 2012

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

When I first saw Dr.Oliak at the seminar Jan 29th 2004. He seemed very knowledgeable, and caring about people having a new start as far as living a healthy life.

As far as my impression changing overtime, it never did I seemed even more comfortable once him and I had a one on one meeting at the office.

To be quit honest, I LOVE DR. OLIAK he is AWESOME,He is not only a Doctor, but he is like a Friend too..He really cares about his patients. He does not look at the as money coming in, he looks at them as people who really want to be healthy and to live a longer life, and he is eager to help them at that..I believe that GOD picked him out for me, cause GOD knew how scared I was, so God picked out his best and that is Dr.Oliak I am 26 years old and I had my surgery 3/17/04 and I am feeling really good.
He had EXCELLENT!!! bedside manners..He answered EVERY question that I had..even if it was completely off, he still answered it. He was at the hospital EVERYDAY!!!

My overall rate of Dr.Oliak is a 10+, A+, 110%...If your reading this Dr. Oliak I LOVE YOU DOC, and I truly believe that GOD picked YOU out from all the rest...Thank you Doc, and Thank you GOD, for my healthy new fresh start in Life with my Kids, Hubby, and Family..

As far as the office staff, they are really nice and helpful anyway possible. So if you go to Coastal ask for DOCTOR OLIAK!!!!

Nov. 2, 2011

1 person found this helpful

Overall
avatar

Dr. Oliak was very professional and an excellent surgeon.

April 19, 2010

avatar

I have only wonderful things to say about Dr. Oliak and his staff. My first appointment with his office was on Oct 2, 2008 and I had my surgery on Nov. 3, 2008. His staff worked around my schedule and helped get all my insurance veified and pre-approved. His manner is friendly and honest. He won't tell you the surgery will fix everything, but you need to use it as a tool and work also. If you are in or close to Orange County, please have a consultation with them. You will not regreat it.

Nov. 12, 2008

avatar

My first impression of Dr. Oliak was his compassion for his patients. I also got the impression that he loved his job. He also seemed very confident in his work. The staff in his office are WONDERFUL. They make you fell so comfortable and relaxed. The only problem I had with Dr. Oliak is that I waited over 1hr. for my appt. for the drain removal. I normally wouldn't mind, but we live 2 hrs away, and the traffic is horrible in Orange Co. (near Los Angeles). Overall I would give Dr. Oliak a 10+. Wonderful bedside manner and is willing to take the time to explain any and all to you.

Nov. 3, 2008

avatar

He's an excellent surgeon, and has a dedicated team of specialists in other weight-related fields (an excercize coach, a nutritionist) and very nice nurses all working in his center. I felt VERY secure and completely informed; it was important to me that I know exactly what they were going to do, what all the different types of surgery would be like, and what I could expect afterwards. They have a great support structure for \"Bandits\" (that's me!) and GB patients; you can go to both types of meetings, and talk with people who've had the different surgeries and learn from what they're experiencing. I feel like I have 24/7 care available, between the doctors themselves and the support network. The only downside I've found with Dr Oliak personally is that he IS a specialist; he's not a nutritionist or a PCP, so I am forced to take his recommendations on diet or handling my diabetes with a grain of salt. Stick with the specialists, but ONLY in their fields.

Oct. 31, 2008

avatar

Dr Oliak is great, helpful and knowledable, as well as his staff. I would refer my friends and family to him. Surgical competence and bedside manner are both great.

Oct. 28, 2008

avatar

I researched Dr. Oliak on the web before I even started the process. I was thrilled when my insurance company told me that he would b my surgeon. He really seems to pay attention to what I say. I have had no problems with him or his office staff, and I am coming up on my one year anniversary.rn

Sept. 29, 2008

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×