Roy Shen

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 with 16 ratings

Roy Shen Bariatric Surgeon M.D.,F.A.C.S.

15 yr Experience

15 yr in Bariatrics

15 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

15 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

1600 % Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 18

Max Age of Patient is 68


Michael Jiser Profile Pic
Michael Jiser
M.D.,F.A.C.S.
Wassim Mazraany Profile Pic
Wassim Mazraany
MD, FACS
Melissa Harvey Profile Pic
Melissa Harvey
MSN, RN, FNP-C
Christine LaBrecque Profile Pic
Christine LaBrecque
Bariatric Center Director
Alisa Himelfarb Profile Pic
Alisa Himelfarb
MS, RD, LDN
Jenny  Hegmann Profile Pic
Jenny Hegmann
Professional

16 Reviews for Roy Shen
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

Dr. Shen was my surgeon who performed my sleeve on March 3, 2015. I agree with the reviews, he was an awesome doctor and I would recommend him to anyone. His manner is serious straight forward and initially he was very "matter of fact". He provided me with all the pros and cons, explained all parts of the surgery and what to expect. I had a conversion with the Lap-Band coming out and receiving the sleeve. At my first follow up he cracked a joke, laughed and said I had caused him some more "white hair" with a big smile. He was just awesome!

I would seek him out again, he is great and I would definitely recommend him to anyone for any WLS.

March 19, 2015

Overall
avatar

My very first impression of Dr. Shen was that he was very task oriented. He was very willing to answer any questions after his explanations of the procedure he is doing for you. I also initially found him to be quite stoic with very little sense of humor but that was fine with me especially given it was my initial consult with him. Follow-ups with Dr. Shen proved to me that he was very thorough, caring and indeed have a sense of humor! I actually got him to crack a smile one time much to my surprise...His office staff at Emerson was caring and kind. They really went out of their way to see that all my needs were met. Though I felt at times that I may not be meeting the \"specified\" percentage of weight loss post-op. Perhaps it was me and that I felt that somehow my slower weight loss was in a way effecting the programs statistics in a negative way and I kind of strayed away from really opening up to them about a lot of the post-op problems I was having. But truly all in all I felt cared about and enjoyed my office visits very much. Dr. Shen was very quiet and very linical. He really didn't ask me a whole lot of questions about anything at my follow-ups really...pain, vomiting, weakness...he would come in feel around my belly, document his findings and send me on my way. He always seemed pleased with my weight loss progress even though I was not. rnThe NP on staff really was the one who examined me before all my appointments with Dr. Shen. She spent time checking me out and answering any of my questions. I do wish Dr. Shen would have asked me more questions at my appointments himself given how nervous I was each time we met and all rational thoughts would just fall right out my ears! I found Dr. Shen to be very specific about the risks of surgery...clear, concise and even graphic...I appreciated that. Overall I would rate Dr. Shen a fine bariatric surgeon. I found his surgical competence outstanding and his bedside manner very uncluttered, polite and in as I said previously my opinion stoic. If I was to do it all over again I'd seek out his expertise.

Jan. 14, 2009

avatar

I first saw Dr. Shen at the info session in August 2008 and I immediately got good vibes from him. Roy Shen is a very quiet and soft spoken man who is extremely knowledgable about bariatric surgery. He was very patient with my questions and very thorough in his explanations, ensuring that I understood every piece of every process. The morning of surgery he really tried to put me at ease and while he maintained his professionalism at all times, I started to see a more \"personal\" side to him- he made me feel like he personally cared (I wasn't just a patient to 'work on'). Post operatively his continued support, encouragement and praise made me feel like I was doing really well I would highly recommend Roy Shen as a bariatric surgeon to anyone!!

Dec. 27, 2008

avatar

Dr. Shen was very professional and thorough, I have only good things to say about him. I would recommend the Emerson Hospital weight loss center to anyone interested in having the surgery.

Dec. 6, 2008

avatar

I first saw Dr. Shen at the info session in May of 2007 and I immediately got good vibes from him because he did the surgery presentation and answered questions and what most stuck out for me and my husband and mother that went with me to this session was that another WL client asked a question and the other surgeon that was in the presentation looked over to Dr. Shen so that he could respond. I instantly felt that he new his stuff and that he was better prepared than the other doctors. rnrnHe normally does not talk much unless asked and I did try to make him laugh a couple of times and I succeeded. rnrnHe knows his stuff and he makes sure to answer any and all questions that you have. Including the \"has anyone died question\". He's very honest with his answers. rnrnI believe in prayer and I really prayed to God that I had found the right doctor and WLS program. rnNot to mention the fact that my mother and father put my surgery and all the results in countless prayer circles in Florida, Massachusetts and Dominican Republic, so I felt at peace with my decision.rnrnI absolutely love the offices and the team at the Lowell General Hospital Bariatric Program: from the staff who is very nice and helpful, to the chairs which are very large so you don't feel out of place. Even the toilets in the restrooms are extra large so anyone can fit comfortably. rnrnSometimes you do have to wait a while to see the doctor but I always take a magazine or book to read to make sure I'm entertained and I rather have it this it way, since it insures me that Dr. Shen takes his time during surgery and with his visits.rnrnThe entire program and the paperwork you sign is centered around support groups before and after the surgery and continued visits with the team for the next 5 years. THis is to insure that you get the best out of the program. rnrnI would definately recommend this program, doctor and team to anyone. rnrn

Aug. 23, 2007

avatar

Roy Shen is a very quiet and soft spoken man who is extremely knowledgable about bariatric surgery. He was very patient with my questions and very thorough in his explanations, ensuring that I understood every piece of every process. The morning of surgery he really tried to put me at ease and while he maintained his professionalism at all times, I started to see a more \"personal\" side to him- he made me feel like he personally cared (I wasn't just a patient to 'work on'). Post operatively his continued support, encouragement and praise made me feel like I was doing really well (I'm down over 100 lbs in 10 months so I guess I'm doing great). I would highly recommend Roy Shen as a bariatric surgeon to anyone!!

Dec. 28, 2006

avatar

Dr Shen is a soft spoken man with several years experience in bariatric surgery. Surgery will be 1/25/06 at Emerson Hospital in Concord, MA. It is a new program for them, but with 3 experienced doctors. About 25% of his surgery is bariatric surgery. He took his time and answered all of my questions in detail. His office staff is great. They have a very thorough evaluation process and subsequent support system. I have attended an information meeting as well as 2 support group meetings and have found fellow patients to be very open and informative.

Dec. 30, 2005

avatar

Dr. Shen is very soft spoken, but is pleased to answer all of your questions. He is very knowledgeable in his field of work. Even when he is pressed for time, he never rushes you. Very good references.

Dec. 24, 2005

avatar

I have to say Dr. Shen was fantastic. He seems very quite but will answer all questions that you ask him. He takes a good pause between what he is saying to make sure that you don't have any of those questions that pop into your head or maybe afraid to ask. At the bedside he is in and out real quick, but does make sure to answer anything that you need. I can say that I didn't need much pain meds after and all wounds healed fast and clean.
The WLS team is great in there support before, during and after the surgery. I give Dr. Shen two thumbs up.

Oct. 9, 2005

avatar

DR. ROY SHEN IS A VERY GOOD SURGEON IN MY OPINION. I HAD NO PAIN FROM THE LAP RNY HE PERFORMED ON ME. I DID NOT REQUIRE ANY PAIN MEDICATION AT ALL. HE CAME TO CHECK ON ME THE NIGHT I HAD THE SURGERY TO MAKE SURE EVERYTHING WAS OK. HE IS A QUIET MAN ,BUT HE LETS YOU KNOW IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS AT ALL, FEEL FREE TO DISCUSS THESE ISSUES WITH HIM. ALSO HIS STAFF VERY NICE PEOPLE AND VERY CARING. HIS STAFF WAS ALWAYS AROUND TO ASK IF YOU NEED ANYTHING.

Aug. 4, 2005

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×