I'm a Newb!!!

Alicia F.
on 8/1/11 2:21 am, edited 8/1/11 2:25 am
RNY on 04/16/12
I'm 29, just shy of 30... 3 great kids.....  I am prior Navy so you'd think I'd be thinner... so not the case.... have had some bumps in the road of health that have led to me being overweight along with my love of food....

I live in North Carolina working for a great company in Virginia. So I travel quite a bit daily.

I want this surgery.... I need to have this surgery as a bigger tool to help me be a healthier person for myself and my kids.  And right now, I am unsure if its going to happen.  I looked up the requirements of my insurance company and I don't meet one.... I have to have the 6mos min of physician guided weight management... I eat healthy, just no excercise....

How is that possible when I've been treated for lower back pain and foot issues when i started the process of working out...  This past June I had surgery on my right foot.... have been treated for that for about 5 months now. How can I get approval if I haven't had a chance to get the min time required.... I have also been treated for about a year for my lower back problem... I am now medicated but i couldn't do anything at first... I'm just scared and worried that I wont get surgery. 

My father had WLS and is doing great.... He went from 400 down to 180 in a matter of 2yrs. 

I am very proud of him!  Now, I just wish I can do the same thing.

Working out is hard for me at the moment because of my feet.   I have my WLS seminar on the 16th and I'll probably have a sleep study done soon since I've been told I may have it...

My story will change as time goes... I'm just in the beginning stages of this process.... just hope it goes the way I want it.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.  

beemerbeeper
on 8/1/11 2:46 am - AL
If you have chronic pain you understand the need for anti-inflamatory drugs (NSAIDs).  You know you can't take them if you have the RnY, right?