Life Choices

MsBatt
on 1/9/12 1:29 pm
Life really IS what you make it---especially right here, these days.

There's been a LOT of controversy here on the MB, and with good reason. Many of the long-time posters have decided to move to another board. (See my signature for the link.)

I've been enjoying posting here on OH for more than 8 years---but not so much, lately. Why? Because the OH mods have been very...stifling. This has become a place where it's impossible to speak freely, and I HATE that.

It's not like I, personally, have anything really controversial to say---I don't. But I really like to be able to HEAR controversial ideas, any time anyone has some to say. The very LAST thing I want is to have what I can HEAR  (or SAY) be censored before I have a chance to judge for myself whether I want to hear it.

I'm an adult---I have the right to decide what I want to listen to.

Jackie
Multiplepetmom

on 1/9/12 1:29 pm
 I hear you, Ms Batt.

I am so firmly in maintenance now - you know, Real Life - that any WLS talk pretty much bores me but I force myself to answer some really basic questions (why am I tired...are you getting in enough FLUID? ...Oh! sure, I was dehydrated. huh!) because people did that for ME.  but I need more: more people, more viewpoints, more variety.

my first year post-op was a-typical and it was SO helpful for me to find others that were the same. then, when those in lockstep told me there was only ONE way to do this - I was more comfortable saying, no, there isn't. there are many ways - maybe as many ways as there are people.

and all the most useful lessons I learned on R&R: no, we won't all get along, yes, people can be angry at me and I can deal with that, not everybody I like will like each other. misunderstandings happen, and many more.

now that I have developed the hide of a rhino, I kind of hate to see others not having the OPTION of choosing the same kind of atmosphere. pity!