would like input on bothe types of wls, trying to decide which is better for me.

froggyx2
on 10/18/14 9:24 pm

Hello everyone!!

I am new to all of this, currently I am doing all of the pre work for approval by my insurance company.

I have been doing a lot of reading on the subject, and still trying to decide which WLS is best for me. I would like some input from people who have and the sleeve and people who have had the bypass.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kate -True Brit
on 10/19/14 1:28 am - UK

I am sure you will get replies. In the meantime, you will find many threads answering this if you click on the search icon (magnifying glass in blue bar) and put in things like bypass versus sleeve, RNY or VSG.

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

Amy R.
on 10/19/14 1:32 am

We have forums here for all of the WLS.  Here is the one for the RnY:  RnY Forum.  Here is the one for the VSG:  VSG Forum

And don't forget the Duodenal Switch:  DS Forum

Since you haven't decided, it might be worth your while to go to each forum and ask what folks like/dislike about their surgeries.

Best of luck to you in your journey.

froggyx2
on 10/19/14 3:56 am

THANK YOU

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/19/14 4:33 am - OH

If you have no medical issues that would make one surgery more appropriate than the other, it basically boils down to whether you are willing to trade taking vitamins 4-5 times a day because of lack of vitamin absorption with the RNY in order to get about 18 months of temporary caloric malabsorption (and slightly faster weight loss than with the sleeve).