This is your new job!!!!

Mimoosmom
on 8/19/15 8:19 am, edited 8/19/15 8:23 am
RNY on 12/04/13

Just a little rant!  I have family members and friends who have had WLS and do NOT follow ANY rules.  They wonder why they are gaining weight, why they have no energy, why the get sick so much, etc...  This surgery is a lifelong commitment!!!!  It's not just some easy thing you do to lose weight.  It's a job you have to show up for everyday!!!  You HAVE to take your vitamins,  you HAVE  to get your protein in, you HAVE  to drink your water, you HAVE to exercise, you HAVE to restrict certain foods/meds from your diet, and you HAVE to have follow up with your doctors. There are lifelong consequences from not following the rules.  I guess, as a nurse, I just find this so frustrating and I really worry that people don't think this body altering surgery is a BIG deal.  Rant over...

SkinnyScientist
on 8/19/15 8:41 am

Hospitals should just hire you to give the patients ONE last talk before surgery..where you explain it EXACTLY like this.

As I was discussing with the manager at my gym this morning, people get the weirdest ideas and have the strangest most unrealistic expectations.  And those of us that DO do our homework are left wondering "What did you think?"

RNY Surgery: 12/31/2013; 

Current weight (2/27/2015) 139lbs, ~14% body fat

Three pounds below Goal!!! Yay !  

SkinnyScientist
on 8/19/15 8:44 am

Oh PS..then these people with unrealistic expectations and NO desire to WORK for their weightloss and use their tool, get penciled into the "failure "column to ultimately be cited by insurance companies in the statistics that support the misguided notion that "WLS does not work". WLS works great...it is the patients and their behaviors which usually fail.

Not that I am perfect...but man...today I am just annoyed by people too.

RNY Surgery: 12/31/2013; 

Current weight (2/27/2015) 139lbs, ~14% body fat

Three pounds below Goal!!! Yay !  

Kathy S.