Initial Impression and Question

Jenb1202
on 4/13/16 1:22 pm

Ok, fine.  I'm NOT new to this game.  While I haven't actually had my surgery yet, I've been researching procedures for years and am not ignorant about what I'm getting myself into.  I get the feeling every feels superior here if they've had the surgery and believes that just because I'm new to the forum that I'm new to the world of WLS.  My surgery is in 13 days and I don't appreciate being treated like I'm an ignorant idiot just because I didn't find this forum at the beginning of this process when I would have taken certain suggestions as helpful, rather than antagonizing.  After choosing a surgeon I have spent hours and hours talking with members of the team and ordering more books, doing more reading and preparing myself as much as possible since the first meeting with him so many months ago.  I've been to hell and back with some of my clearances.  This is NOT a hockey game, this is a group (from my understanding) meant to support and encourage one another.  Yes, I am new to this site, I do not appreciate being treated like a moron.  So, I can be impolite, too.  I just find it unnecessary in a SUPPORT group.

Oxford Comma Hag
on 4/13/16 1:27 pm

Ffs, do whatever you want. No one treated you poorly.

I fight badgers with spoons.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-8255

Suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 4/13/16 1:37 pm
RNY on 08/05/19

If you'd read more of the forums-- now, or back when doing research-- you'd know that "support" around here does NOT often equal a hand-pat and false assurances that everything are fine. Flip through old posts and see how many people have NOT done their research and/or make bad decisions, and you'll understand why the long-time posters act the way they do.

Nobody's out to attack you. Nobody says you're an idiot. This is just how things run around here.

Good luck.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)