What to do if you suspect you have an eating disorder.

Erin T.
on 3/5/19 2:23 am
VSG on 01/17/17

I'm glad you're seeking help. Your focus should be on getting help and your WL needs to be secondary to that. If possible try to find a therapist who supports a non-diet mentality and work with a non-diet registered dietician as well. It has changed my life.

VSG: 1/17/17

5'7" HW: 283 SW: 229 CW: 135-140 GW: 145

Pre-op: 53 M1: 22 M2: 12 M3: 12 M4: 8 M5: 10 M6: 11 M7: 5 M8: 6 M9-M13: 15-ish

LBL/BL w/ Fat Transfer 1/29/18

Donna L.
on 3/13/19 12:21 pm - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

I am so sorry you have been through all that, Melody. :( We absolutely can develop anorexia while being obese or overweight. They are not mutually exclusive, and this is getting more recognition now.

I'm a therapist who sees a therapist myself. The hardest part is going, but you are already taking the first steps to do it.

Donna

I follow a ketogenic diet post-op. I also have a diagnosis of binge eating disorder. Feel free to ask me about either!

It is not that we have so little time but that we lose so much...the life we receive is not short but we make it so; we are not ill provided but use what we have wastefully. -- Seneca, On the Shortness of Life

LuckyLoser
on 3/4/19 10:57 pm - NEPA, PA
RNY on 08/20/18

Hi Donna:

I am so glad you opened up this topic and brought to light what many of us don't like to admit . . . that many of us who became MO and require WLS have underlying psychiatric problems that led us to where we are.

In my profession, there is an extremely strong stigma associated with psychiatric illness among co-workers. It is really shameful.