Considering Surgery...

The_Sun_Fairy
on 5/15/13 4:23 am

Hi - I am very new to this, so please bear with me.  For a little background, I am a 42 year old female, 5'8" and weigh 345lbs, approximate BMI of 52.  I have been overweight most of my life -- all through childhood and high school.  When I went to college, I actually lost about 100 lbs, but since I did not address the issues that made me overweight (emotional eating/emotional abuse/etc), it did not stay off.  I gained about 50lbs back and stayed at that weight for a year or so, but then was diagnosed with depression.  The meds made me gain more weight, my boyfriend was emotionally abusive and on the weight came.  Then I met my wonderful husband who loves me for me and proceeded to get married and have 2 wonderful children!  My oldest is a boy and is almost 5 and my youngest is a girl who just turned 3!!  However, I feel like I can't be a good mom to them because I am so overweight!  I want to run around the yard with them, take bike rides and walk on the beach every weekend, but my weight is stopping that to an extent because when I push myself to do things, I pay for it the next 3-4 days with horrible back pain, knee pain, etc.   Anyway, enough of the back story!!

I have researched the many types of WLS and I think my best option would be VSG.  However, I would like to find out from people who started around my weight if: 1)  You have been able to lose to your goal weight??  2) Did you have the issues with extra skin??   3) Was your surgery done laparoscopically and if so, what was your recovery time back to work? 4) If not laparoscopic, what was your recovery time back to work?  5) Did you keep off the weight??  6) Would you do it again if you were in the same situation (not a revision, just was it worth it?)

Sorry for so many questions, but I don't know anyone who has had WLS so this is hopefully a way for me to gain "real world" info!!  Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing from you!!  :)