Question for those with or used to have Sleep Apnea

road2healthy
on 7/29/14 11:09 am

First off this is my first time posting I just joined the site today. I am going to be getting the duodenal switch and have done a lot of the steps, my provider being Aetna I have to go through a 90 day multi-disciplinary course. So the earliest my surgery will be is in November. 

The doctor requested a sleep study and I believe after it I may have some form of sleep apnea. I won't know for a week or so. My question is this what risk does sleep apnea add to the procedure/recovery.  I read a couple places that sleep apnea can increase the risk but I am unsure as of how?

So to my new found friends those who have similar hurdles to over come or have already over come them is there any information you can kindly toss my way. I know it's a question for the surgeon but I like being well informed before moving forward with everything

Thank you for your time :)

MajorMom
on 7/29/14 6:16 pm - VA

Welcome!  Sleep apnea is one of the comorbidities that insurance companies look for. So if you have it and need a CPAP machine, go with it. I was tested and diagnosed just prior to surgery.They want you to have the CPAP machine with you so you can use it in the hospital, or at least mine did. Once I started losing weight I came off the CPAP and haven't used it since about 30 days post-op. Good luck!

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

road2healthy
on 7/30/14 4:04 am

Thank you so much for the response that is kind of what I was assuming. I have no problem with at this point in my life doing whatever it takes to get healthy. 

jashley
on 7/30/14 12:28 pm
DS on 12/19/12