Excited newbie here!

kamac
on 1/9/17 8:06 am
VSG on 07/09/18

I've been lurking for a while now, and joined up last month. Guess it's time for me to start posting!

I'm in the early days of this process- had my Orientation in December, Nurse Practitioner consult last week, and am scheduled for the dietician and social worker next month. I also have to see an Internist, and Psychologist, and possibly a Sleep Study (had one about a year and a half ago, might have to re-do so it's current). But...I was told that if everything goes smoothly, I'm looking at having WLS in late spring 2017!

I'm in Kingston, and keeping my fingers crossed that I can have the surgery here at Hotel Dieu, otherwise it would be either St Mike's (Toronto) or Toronto East General. I'm feeling really anxious about it all- "failing" an assessment along the way, the surgery itself- but also really excited and especially grateful to have this opportunity. My goal is to lose 200lbs- I'm 5'8" and currently 379, and am determined to be 179 in 2 years time.

Right now I'm working on being more consistent with walking on the treadmill, eliminating sweets and caffeine, eating slowly and mindfully, increasing my water intake, and not drinking during meals. I'm also a bit obsessive about researching plastic surgery- I know I'm going to need it, but I have to remember not to overwhelm myself, and focus on my lifestyle now and moving forward towards WLS approval.

Anyway, just thought I'd introduce myself. Reading the posts on the forum has been enormously helpful!

Kara
Highest Weight: 420; Opti Starting Weight: 395; Surgery Weight: 371;
Current Weight: 322.1; Goal Weight: 160

"Find things beautiful as much as you can, most people find too little beautiful."
-Vincent Van Gogh

crqvingchange
on 1/9/17 2:16 pm

Welcome Kamac.   Ask as many questions as you need to, we're all here to help if we can.  Join us on the What are you Eating thread.  We have pre-op on there too.