dumb question thread

poet_kelly
on 3/24/11 10:39 pm - OH
We did this quite a while ago but I thought it would be good to do it again.

No, I don't want to gripe about dumb questions people ask.  I'm going to say the only dumb question is the one we do not ask.

So here is the place to ask all the questions you've really wondered about but were embarrassed to ask.  I bet someone can answer them.  Maybe me, but if not, someone else.  Or lots of someone elses.  Ask away.

Kelly

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

poet_kelly
on 3/24/11 10:40 pm - OH
And I have a question myself.

Why do our tastes change after surgery?  I know that is very common and mine sure did, although they went back to normal almost but not quite after several months.  But why does it happen?  After all, they did not operate on my taste buds!

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Pam T.
on 3/24/11 11:54 pm - Saginaw, MI
 The taste buds changing thing actually is based in biology. There are a few factors at play:

*** in the 2 weeks following surgery our taste buds are influenced by the anesthesia that remains in our system. For some people that goes away in a few days, for others it can linger for up to 14 days. It'll leave a metallic taste in your mouth.