fructose corn syrup and caffeine????

imma_always_b_me
on 1/10/12 5:37 am - MD
I drank a v8 splash before reading the lable(shame on me) and it has fcs in it i didnt dump or anything, now I know we shouldnt have these things but is it a medical reason why or nutritional reason???

"Its not how you start, it's how you finish"
Keeves
on 1/10/12 6:02 am - Elizabeth, NJ
I'll take take your word for it that it is listed in the ingredients, but I'm guessing there's not enough of it to make a difference. How far down on the list was it?

imma_always_b_me
on 1/10/12 6:11 am, edited 1/10/12 6:12 am - MD

fructose corn syrup was the second ingredient

poet_kelly
on 1/10/12 6:31 am - OH
Because lots of sugar has lots of calories and won't help you lose weight.  It might also cause dumping or make your blood sugar spike, then crash.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

imma_always_b_me
on 1/10/12 6:37 am - MD
Thanks kelly thats where i was confused i did look at the sugars and it had 15 (my nut says 16 is the max) but then when i actually looked ath the ingredients i was like oops. its an isolated incident so iguess i am good

Kat Kat
on 1/10/12 7:06 am, edited 1/10/12 7:28 am - AZ
 Hi Imma,

I had my surgery at Johns Hopkins as well. My Surgeon, Dr Magnuson, is the director of their bariatric department, so we're kind of like sisters in surgery now.

I know all this can be a little daunting, but try to familiarize yourself with the book they gave you pre-op. It can also be found on their website if you're away from home.

Under "Getting Ready for Surgery" Step 5, it explains Sugar which I'll paste as a reminder.

Best Wishes for Success!

Kat 

Step 5: Read food labels.