Meeting with surgeon in a couple weeks.

gishstar
on 4/27/12 6:28 pm
I've been putting this off for a couple years now because I thought I could do this on my own. I truly honestly did. I would lose weight, gain more back, lose again, and gain again... I know I wasn't being totally faithful to my diets, but I also knew that I was utilizing appropriate portion control too.

It wasn't until I saw my family doctor a couple years ago because I was concerned about my weight, not one of my doctors (my OBGYN, or my family practice) was concerned at all. They said my weight was fine. With a BMI of 40 +, I don't call that fine.

So my family doctor recommended weight loss surgery. I was taken aback by the suggestion, I guess I honestly didn't think that I needed weight loss surgery. I said "no thank you" and asked about other options. He went through a spcheel on various extremely low-calorie, or high protein diets. None of which sounded all that appealing to me, nor could I afford it either. That was the end of that.

Last week, I had my yearly exam with my OBGYN. I stepped on the scale at her clinic and the scale read "258 lbs", I had to do a double take. I know that when I go to the doctor's office their scales aren't all that forgiving, but come on! I even had my shoes, AND my coat off! That should at leat have taken off like... oh I don't know... 3 pounds? Well, at least that's what the Wii Fit board says it adds.

While I'm having a silent panic attack about the unexpected weight gain (becuase I had just weighed in thar morning at home at 252), the nurse is assuring me that it's just because it's the end of the day, and we're all heavier at the end of the day. I'm not necessarily freaking out about the 258. I can sort of handle 258. What I couldn't handle was that I had exceeded my weight gain "high number" of "don't get pass 255!" and there I was... 3 lbs past 255.