O T Need some help with a recipe

mpjones
on 5/31/12 3:51 am
I'm pre-surgery but trying to get prepared for a new way of eating so I putting together a notebook of recipes that I'm getting from this site as well as other sites for weight loss surgery people. I have a recipe for 3 Bean Salad that I have been making for over 30 years and if I list it can the "veterans" here tell me if I can still use it after surgery? 

3 Bean Salad

2 (15 oz each) cans green beans, drained
1 (15 0z) can wax beans, drained
1 (15-16 oz) can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
( I use my own home canned beans -so I use 1 quart of green beans and and 1 pint of wax beans)
1 medium onion, sliced in half and thinly sliced
2/3 cup sugar-(I substituted an equal amount of artificial sweetener and didn't notice a difference in taste)
2/3 cup vinegar ( I use white)
1/3 cup oil ( I use canola)
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. celery seed
1/2 tsp black pepper

In a bowl mix the sugar, vinegar,oil, salt. celery seed and pepper. Set aside. Put all the beans in a colander and rinse ( I don't use salt when canning so I skip this step). Drain well. Put beans in a large container with a cover. Add the sliced onion. Pour the liquid over the beans and gently mix well. Cover and refrigerate. Allow the beans to marinate at least 12 hours before serving. Stir occasionally. Keep refrigerated.

Serves 10 to 12 people.

I'm sorry I have long lost any nutritional information that may have come with this recipe. I do have to say this is one of the best tasting bean salads ever !! And I would HATE to have to stop using it, but do you think it's too high in the amount of sweetener or oil--would it make a person that had WLS "dump" if they did in fact dump?

Any comments welcomed. Thanks.
jazzycatz
on 5/31/12 4:01 am - Joppa, MD

Send me a few jars of those home canned beans and I will tell ya.    LOL