Want to start jogging... where do I begin? C25K? Or??

volky64
on 8/21/12 11:16 am
hey gang.
so i've decided that I want to start running/jogging.  what do you recommend for a TOTAL beginner??  it's been a really long time since i've run. ever.  so i'm totally breaking out of the comfort zone.  i do zumba and walk regularly, but jogging is a new frontier...  any advice would be great!!
and paul, def looking for your input!
Neen L.
on 8/21/12 11:43 am - Arlington, VA
C25k is great!

I could never ever run, even when I was not terribly overweight. But my gym membership was expensive and I figured that running was free exercise...

I was really skeptical about trying c25k because I thought surely 9 weeks was not enough to go from nothing to a 5k. Sure enough, right after I finished the program I ran AIDS Walk Washington.

The program ramps up slowly and has some wiggle room for extra time if needed. This is the schedule I used: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

Good luck!

Long-term post-ops with regain struggles, click here to see some steps for getting back on track (without the 5-day pouch fad or liquid diet): http://www.obesityhelp.com/member/bananafish711/blog/2013/04/05/don-t-panic--believe-and-you-will-succeed-/

Always cooking at www.neensnotes.com!

Need a pick-me-up? Read this: http://www.lettersofnote.com/2009/10/it-will-be-sunny-one-day.html

Kay L.
on 8/21/12 12:38 pm - N., AL
I too am doing the C25K, and I'm 55!! I'm only a couple weeks in and I got bronchitis for a week of that and had to skip it. But I highly recommend it. If I can do it, anyone can (barring medical restrictions).
Bebhihn
on 8/21/12 1:08 pm - IA
If you have a smart phone there are several different c25k apps that will take you through the process.  My husband has done it and loves it!
Just When The Caterpillar Thought The World Was Over, She Became A Butterfly. 

--Proverb

Kim S.
on 8/21/12 1:31 pm - Helena, AL