How much liquids?

sharlenew
on 2/17/13 9:52 pm - Steelville, MO
I am 4 yrs out and very happy that I am maintaining a good weight for me. I have never been much of a person to drink water or other liquids very much but I just came from the ER after 5 days of high fever to discover a unitary tract infection. The doctor asked how much liquids do I drink. 😞 Well. Some doctors don't understand that we can't just guzzle Down a 20oz bottle of water at a sitting. So what I need to know is how you all do it? How much a day should we drink? And...I hate plan water. Thanks for any help.

Hugs,
Sharlene
Lessoflinda
on 2/17/13 10:23 pm - NY
I think that 64 oz. is the minimum recommended. More is better. My understanding anyway.

Linda, Endwell, NY RNY 11/5/12

poet_kelly
on 2/17/13 11:02 pm - OH

Most docs say at least 64 oz a day.  I drink at least 100 oz a day, easily.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

lilsis67
on 2/17/13 11:06 pm - NY
I am only a few days out with surgery but I never have a moment that I am without my water. I take sips all day. My mouth tastes nasty and is dried out so I can't imagine not having it. Good luck and feel better
Dee.spunk
on 2/17/13 11:34 pm - Sacramento, CA
I was told minimum of 64 oz. I can do about 80 oz.

Height:5'1.5 RNY:11/30/11 HW:307 SW:234 CW:136 GW:140 (LOST 73 Lbs. PRE-OP)

(deactivated member)
on 2/18/13 12:24 am
RNY on 04/18/12

Some of us actually can guzzle down a 20 oz bottle of water at a sitting.  I have no problem with it, and haven't since I was about 3 months out.