Newbie Q on Wt Loss expectations and food options

AliciaG_RN
on 3/2/14 4:14 am
RNY on 02/12/14

Hi Everyone,

I am just over 2 weeks out from RNY. It has been a rollercoaster of a ride but getting better each day. I have just started my Stage 4 diet and am at a loss on what to try and eat. I am afraid to eat anything! Suggestions??

Also, I am so unsure of what to expect for wt loss. I know it isn't set in stone anywhere but feel what I have lost so far is not great. I am having what is probably an irrational fear despite this it won't come off. The 2 week mark had me down to 195..a 10 lb loss. Normal? What should I expect as I start adding solids? Freaking out a bit....

poet_kelly
on 3/2/14 4:44 am - OH

I don't know what your stage four is.   doesn't your meal plan give you suggestions for what to eat?  Why are you afraid of eating anything?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

AliciaG_RN
on 3/2/14 4:50 am
RNY on 02/12/14

Stage 4 is approx week 2-week 6. Intoducing solid proteins.  I have tried Egg Beaters and cheese.  Today I tried Tuna.  Luckily all went well. 

momjan
on 3/2/14 5:17 am - Canada

Good questions from Poet Kelly but you didn't answer them. Follow your doctor's plan, or call them if you are unsure of anything, eat your.  Everyone's weight loss is different just as everyone's body is different....... drink your water.  Exercise and take your proteins and vitamins.

karenp8
on 3/2/14 5:12 am - Brighton, IL

Don't be afraid to eat,you will most likely do just fine. My surgeon says 3 to 5 pounds per week is normal and you are on the high end of that so doing great! It's a learning game but just follow your doctors plan and you will do fine.