Breastfeeding post-op

Ashley D.
on 8/18/11 12:13 pm
It might be an odd question but is the big determining factor in WHEN I'm going to have the surgery.  I have a 4-month-old sweet baby boy and am currently breastfeeding him.  I breastfed my daughter till she was 10 months old and only stopped then because I had a tonsillectomy (which let me tell you as an adult, sucked!  Worse than either two c-sections I had!) and was on Demerol and Phenergan.  I would like to keep breastfeeding him till he is that age at least which would be early next year.  But for insurance purposes, it's better that I have the surgery as soon as possible (or at least before the end of December).  What to do, what to do??  I wonder how feasible it is to breastfeed immediately post-op??
Crimson
on 8/18/11 12:22 pm - MD
I'm no doctor, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't be feasible due to the anesthesia still in your system (possibly), not to mention the pain meds you'll be taking. I can't imagine the post-op diet is appropriate either if you are breastfeeding.

i'd consult with doctors both involved in your childs' care as well as yours

HW: 271 lbs.     SW: 255 lbs.     GW: 150 lbs.    
USAF Wife
on 8/18/11 12:38 pm
You'll have to pump and dump until the drugs get out of your system.

Also, the post-op dietary guideline is extremely limited in calories. Not only for weight loss purposes, but for the healing process as well.

You'll only be consuming a few hundred calories the first couple of weeks, and for the first few months through your losing stage, it's less than 1000 calories.

Check with your doctors, and your child's ped to make sure that your supply would be adequate on a significantly decreased calorie restriction.
Band to VSG revision: June 3, 2009
SW 270lbs GW 150lbs CW Losing Pregancy Weight Maintenance goal W 125-130lbs

tripmom02
on 8/18/11 2:30 pm - NJ