VSG to RNY

JenniferER
on 8/25/11 6:46 am - MI
Hi,

I have been having terrible reflux and nausea since my VSG 8 weeks ago to the point where I am on IV nutrition since I cannot consume enough calories.  My surgeon is going to go back in next week to see if it is a hiatal hernia that can be repaired.  If it is not a hernia, he has suggested that I convert my VSG to a RNY which should end the problem.  He did not feel a DS is warranted.  I am not thrilled about this as I really did not want to have to deal with dumping and other malabsorbtion challenges.  On the other hand, the current situation is not maintainable. I can't live hooked up to an IV every night.  Is there anyone who has had a VSG turned into an RNY that would like to share their experience?

Thank you

Jennifer ER   VSG 6/29/11  RNY 10/26/11   

skylark2011
on 8/25/11 7:00 am, edited 8/24/11 7:02 pm

Uh....Im no doctor, but isnt VSG to RNY impossible since your stomach is mostly gone? isnt your only option DS? It doesnt sound like the doc knows what he is talking about....

HW: 351 SW: 344.5   5'10"  

skylark2011
on 8/25/11 7:42 am
MY BAD!!! 

HW: 351 SW: 344.5   5'10"  

NewStart145
on 8/25/11 8:15 am - GA
From my research the purpose of the VSG was originally used to convert to RNY.  The VSG was designed to help patient who were like 500+ lbs to lose weight in order to have the RNY done safely to lose the additonal weight.  However, doctors have now seen that people can use the VSG as their main source of weight loss and not have to convert to RNY.   So the doctor correct when saying you can go from VSG to RNY. 

hollykim
on 8/25/11 11:22 am - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On August 25, 2011 at 3:15 PM Pacific Time, NewStart145 wrote: