VSG and Hernia repair

forthetwins
on 11/8/12 7:06 am - CA

Hi Everyone, 

I am new to OH and I am am hoping to have my VSG in the next few months. My journey actually started over a year ago when I completed all my tests, nutrition and diet. I had a surgery date for January 9th and I was very excited. Unfortunately, my husband lost his job and my insurance with it. It wasn't until this September that I got a job and insurance and now I'm back on track. I am really hoping that most of my testing, nutrition etc. will not have to be repeated. I will know more about that on the 21st. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

I have been reading that some people who had hiatal hernia repairs with their VSG had lots of pain. I have a hiatal hernia and now I'm not sure I want to get it fixed. Is there anyone out there that had a VSG and a hiatal hernia repair that was not in lots of pain? I would love to hear about your experiences with that goo or bad.

Thanks 

~nikki

frisco
on 11/8/12 7:56 am, edited 11/8/12 7:57 am

Talk to your VSG surgeon about it.......

I would think it is an absolute "Must" (actually I know for sure....just trying to be PC"

Some people claim pain and others not....

The bottom line is if your VSG surgeon doesn't recommend the HH repaired during VSG....... find another surgeon.....fast !

The HH needs to be repaired for potential reflux issues.

frisco

SW 338lbs. GW 175lbs. Goal in 11 months. CW 148lbs. WL 190lbs.

" To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art "

VSG Maintenance Group Forum

http://www.obesityhelp.com/group/VSGM/discussion/

CAFE FRISCO at LapSF.com

Dr. Paul Cirangle

Italian-Princess
on 11/8/12 8:06 am - IL
VSG on 06/28/12

Hi 

Welcome to OH.  This is a great site to get information, ask questions, and find support and encouragement as you make your wa on your journey.