Considering the Sleeve...

Kris R.
on 8/5/16 8:46 am - Walworth, NY

Do it - for you, not for your husband or anyone else.  For you!!! I did and I am so grateful - I'm a different person, I actually love myself again and because of that I'm a better person!!

You can't take care of them, if you don't take care of you!!
Band 10/2006, removal 10/2010, VSG 02/08/2016

Anne O.
on 8/5/16 9:49 am, edited 8/5/16 2:53 am - Jacksonville, FL
Revision on 06/30/16

I'm a newbie - just got a sleeve on 6/30 - so I'm not a huge fan of the sleeve just yet. I am 5'6" and HW 314 SW 300 CW 268

Everyone else has given a sunshine and rainbows look at the sleeve. Let me point out some of the negatives and some of things I should have really thought about before doing this: 

1. I have loved food all of my life. I used to love to cook for my family and eat with my family.  After surgery, with the drastic removal of most of the ghrelin, I now have no desire to eat or shop for food, or prepare food. I am completely out of the mealtime hunger and eating cycle that my family is still in. I don't even want to go into the kitchen and make anything. I've been the mom and the food preparer for so long that my family wants me to make them food and I just don't care. It makes me sad. That is a huge part of my life that just suddenly disappeared post  surgery. I know some vets will say that comes back but it's a huge change and a huge adjustment for me. 
  2. You will lose that "hungry-craving- eat- satisfied" feeling. There is a happiness in that. I never thought about it. I just wanted to get rid of what seemed like constant hunger. Well, be careful what you wish for. I've gone from thinking about lunch at breakfast and thinking about dinner at lunch to not wanting to eat or caring about eating. I put something in my mouth because I have to. I really miss the normal cycle of being hungry and wanting something and then eating it.