Qutting Smoking Before Surgery

MaMaMaRTiNeZz
on 10/10/12 6:57 am - Los Angeles, CA
RNY on 11/01/12
So today is my last day of smoking cigarettes. I was told that I needed to quit smoking 4 weeks before surgery but I ****** that up and now I have 3 weeks before surgery. Does anyone think that anything bad will happen to me because I quit 3 weeks before instead of 4?! I was a smoker from the age of 19 in 2005 until 22 in 2008 when I got pregnant with my son. From July 2008 until September 2010 I did not smoke. Then in September 2010 until April 2012 I started smoking again. I quit in the beginning of April until the beginning of August 2012. I have been smoking about 3-5 cigarettes a day since August 2012 and this will be my last day of smoking. Before that I would smoke about the same maybe 1-1/2 packs a week, I've never been a heavy chain smoker and truthfully every time I quit I did it without any aids, cold turkey. But now I am afraid that I am no longer safe because I should have stopped at the 4 week mark. My good friend just underwent RNY in July and she never quit smoking she kept smoking until 2 hours before her surgery and resumed smoking the night of her surgery day. I don't plan on taking that risk...so even though the people on this board are not doctor's I was wondering if you all think I'll be ok. I've had a few chest xrays throughout 2012 and my lungs are in great condition, no issues whatsoever. My last chest xray was on 10/1/2012 and the dcotor couldn't even tell I was a smoker. So please give me your opinions on this. Thanks. :)

NOTHING tastes as GOOD as SKINNY FEELS...

Starting Pre-Op Weight: 305     Weight On Day of Surgery: 297 

Laurie T.
on 10/10/12 9:24 am - MA