Ayotunde Adeyeri

Bariatric Surgeon
Rating: 4.98850574713 out of 5 with 113 ratings

Ayotunde Adeyeri Bariatric Surgeon MD, FASMBS
www.sterlingsurgicare.com Write Review

Ayotunde Adeyeri's Photo

17 yr Experience

16 yr in Bariatrics

17 yr in Laparoscopic Surgery

16 yr in Laparoscopic Bariatrics

90% Practice is Bariatrics

Min Age of Patient is 19

Max Age of Patient is 65


avatar
Seun Sowemimo
MD, FACS
avatar
Lori Skurbe
RD, MPH, CDE
avatar
Melissa Tenny
Patient Support
avatar
MaryEllen Byrne
Patient Care Associate/Tech

113 Reviews for Ayotunde Adeyeri
Show reviews by   Sort by Most Helpful | Newest
avatar

I WAS FIRST VERY LEARY OF NOT HAVING THE SURGERY, BECAUSE I ORIGINALLY WENT TO SEE DR. WASHINGTON WHO'S PRACTICE IT WAS ORIGINALLY. HOWEVER, I SAID IF DOCTOR WASHINGTON TOOK THE TIME TO SEARCH FOR THE RIGHT PERSON TO TAKE OVER HIS PRACTICE, THEN I SAID TO MYSELF THAT I WOULD GIVE THE DOCTOR THE BENEFIT OF DOUBT. I'M VERY GLAD I DID GIVE THIS DOCTOR THE OPPORTUNITY, THEN JUST WALKING AWAY FROM NOT HAVING THE SURGERY. HE WAS ALWAYS POLITE AND COURTESY. HE ALWAYS GREETED ME WITH RESPECT. HE IS VERY STRICT, HE KNOWS WHATS BEST FOR THE PATIENT, BECAUSE IF YOU DO WHAT HE SAYS THEN HE LETS YOU HAVE MEANING IF HE WANTS YOU TO LOSE WEIGHT BEFORE THE SURGERY , THEN DO IT BECAUSE IT WILL HELP YOU RECOVER QUICKER. IF YOU DON'T FOLLOW HIS LEAD THEN IT WILL TAKE LONGER TO RECOVER FROM THE SURGERY. HE GIVES YOU PLENTY OF TIME BEFORE YOUR SURGERY TO PRE-PARE YOURSELF AS TO WHAT YOU WILL BE ABLE TO EAT BEFORE THE SURGERY AND IN THE WEEKS AFTER THE SURGERY. AND FOR REAL QUESTION WOULD I REFER THIS DOCTOR TO ANY ONE ELSE, I WOULD DEFINITELY DO THAT BECAUSE HE GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK. THANK YOU !!!!!

Jan. 4, 2012

Overall
avatar

I have found that the mannerism tha Dr. Adeyeri conducts himself is far more personable and professionable than most of the other doctors that I have encountered. I feel he is truely looking to restore the quality of life that may have slipped away through the mismanagment of personal weight control, He takes the time to explain what the risks are and the long term benifits will be by following the prescribed procedures. I have been very happy to be part of this program, and am quite satified with the results that I have seen in the short time that I've been involved.

Dec. 20, 2011

Overall
avatar

Dr.Adeyeri cares about his patients;he makes you feel welcome from day one.He is interested in each patients' problems.He listens and reccomends the type of surgey,that will work best for you.His staff is helpful and caring.After surgery,he eliminated most of my medications and my primary physician agreed. I.m involved aftercare now and could not praise Dr. Adeyeri enough.

Dec. 12, 2011

Overall
avatar

Wow, what can I say about Dr. Adeyeri... Well he is a kind and thoughtful man, he is an excellent surgeon, and his staff the best. I never had to worry about anything while in his care and he was very supportive moments before my surgery and even coming to see me after. I look forward to seeing him in my follow-up appointments. He gave me all the tools and options I needed to succeed in my weight loss goal. I am very happy to have found him and have him as my surgeon.

Dec. 4, 2011

Overall
avatar

I had my consultation in July 2011 during which Dr. Adeyeri explained the different weight loss procedures and which might benefit me most because of my co morbidities. I was a type 2 diabetic taking the maximum oral medication (insulin injections were next!) and high blood pressure. Dr. A. was extremely thorough and patient, answering every question & never rushing through an answer.
Mara, the patient coordinator, will guide you through every step necessary to get approval from your insurance company and setting your appointments with Julie the nutritionist.
On October 21, 2011 I had laparoscopic RNY surgery at Raritan Bay in Old Bridge. As I told Dr. A., it's my new birthday thanks to him! Within 5 days after surgery I was off my diabetes meds and high blood pressure meds were reduced by half. It truly has been a life changing experience! This was the tool I needed all my life to get on the road to being a healthier person. I am so happy that a friend recommended Dr. Adeyeri and I would recommend him to anyone considering weight loss surgery.
Besides follow up office visits, Dr. A. encourages patients to attend group support meetings held monthly. All types of bariatric patients attend. They are informative & enjoyable.
Overall this has been a positive experience for me.

Dec. 1, 2011

1 person found this helpful

avatar

Dr. Adeyeri is very nice. He'll take the time to talk to you and explain things about the operation and answer any questions you might have. He's a real "people" person, you don't feel like a number, he made me feel very comfortable with the procedure. He's got a great bedside manner.
His office staff is very nice also, the coordinator is just fabulous. She took care of me and helped me through the whole process.
He has support group meetings the fourth Wednesday of every month. I haven't been able to get to one myself yet, as I work second shift and they're held in the evenings. But I understand that he is there at everyone of them to help with any questions that need answering. It's nice because he's putting together an online support group for people like me that work an "off" shift. I can't wait for that to start up.
I've been very happy with my doctor and his staff and have no complaints. I'm on my way to being thinner with each passing day!

Nov. 24, 2011

Overall
avatar

As a patient of Dr. Adeyeri's, my experiences pre-surgery, during surgery and post surgery have been wonderful. Upon meeting Dr. Adeyeri during my initial consultation and discussing the option of the adjustable gastric band as a weight loss tool for me, I felt very informed, assured and confident that this was the best choice by the end of the consultation. I had a list of questions and concerns regarding the surgery and Dr. Adeyeri answered them all without hesitation and put my mind at ease. The office staff was very helpful in guiding me through all of the prerequisite appointments neccessary for the surgery. They did a great job of keeping track of what information was received and what was still pending. The day of sugery went very smooth at Raritan Bay Medical Center. Dr. Adeyeri, along with the nursing staff, had wonderful bedside manner and made me feel very comfortable. One of the most important keys to having success with weight loss surgery is the continued monitoring and assessment of your progress. He shows a personal vested interest in your success and what's best for you. Dr. Adeyeri is a big proponent of attending bariatric support groups. I find these to be very motivating, informative, helpful and a big contributor to my weight loss success to date. I would highly recommend Dr. Adeyeri as your bariatric surgeon to anyone considering having weight loss surgery.

Nov. 21, 2011

Overall
avatar

Dr. Adeyeri is an extremely kind, patient and thorough surgeon. Because of his skill, I had no complications from surgery, in spite of numerous health issues. Dr. Adeyeri takes the time to discuss your concerns and answers your questions readily. He is very passionate about being healthy and maintaining a healthy lifestyle post surgery. His office staff are extremely helpful, friendly and supportive. They assist with insurance coordination and nutritional support and are always available.The support groups are extremely helpful and provide alot of information from all types of bariatric patients and are really enjoyable. I have recommended Dr. Adeyeri highly to several friends and will continue to in the future. He has changed my life and will be forever an integral part of my new lifestyle.

Nov. 19, 2011

Overall
avatar

Dr Adeyeri performed my gastric bypass surgery on 9/7/11. It is one of the best decisions I have made in my life. Dr A was clear about the ups and downs of surgery and together we decided which bariatric surgery to have. He is always available for any questions and concerns and his staff, Mara and Julie are the best. They are very helpful and patient with all the questions and concerns. Dr A even advised my sisters, who are nurses, to call him with any questions and concerns they have regarding my surgery and recuperation, which is A+ in my book, no other surgeon extends himself to family members. His interest in his patients does not end with the surgery. He constantly encourages his patients to go to the support meetings, and he does check up on who is there too!! He feels that his experience and the patient's hard work make for a successful life after surgery. I would recommend him to anyone interested in have gastric surgery.

Nov. 15, 2011

avatar

Gastric bypass surgery has changed my life. Dr. A did wonders for me. He did an amazing job on my surgery and I have NO complaints. I am so happy I had him do this surgery for me. I was not scared at all. He definitely put me at ease. He has many years of experience. I was confident in him. I was so ready for this surgery, and I can tell you, you would not be disappointed with him or his welcoming staff.

Nov. 13, 2011

DISCLAIMER
The information on this page is presented as supplied by the indicated members of our community. ObesityHelp.com does not monitor or edit this information.
×