Need to get back on track

judyeliz
on 7/15/15 12:46 pm
RNY on 04/24/15

Well, I finally had my heart surgery on Monday.  Have been waiting over a year, longer wait than for my wls.  I feel like I wa**** by a truck.  Everything hurts right now.  Today a little better than yesterday.  I swear they must have dropped me in the operating room.  My back was in terrible spasms every time I moved a little bit.  I think from the hours of lying flat on my back, in the or and afterward for 5 hours.  And then they put these huge clamps on the areas in my groin where the tubes were, to stop any bleeding, 4 lines were venous, and one was arterial.   I was actually clamped to the bed like a 2 x 4.  They were so tight.  And my wonderful surgeon ordered nothing but tylenol for pain.  I practically had to beg for some pain meds, and then he would only give me 3 doses to take while I was clamped.  I am a nurse, and was not impressed! I have had several surgeries over the years, and I have to say, this one has been the worse experience.  

The good thing is my heart has not been racing since the surgery.  I am hoping that it has worked, and I won't have to go through this again.  The bad thing, I have to stay on the medication for my heart for at least 3 months.  This medication had made me gain so much weight over the past year.  I am sure it is keeping my weight loss slower than it could be.  Also, the fact the I have not been able to exercise since my wls.  I feel like I have wasted 3 months of my "honeymoon" period.   

Well, now I have to get back on track, hoping to feel a little better every day.  I want to start walking, as soon as the pain in my groin area goes away.  Still have orders to take it easy for a week or two.  

Sorry this is so long, but I just had to vent.  I feel better already  

Going to try to get back into posting on the daily menu topic.  

Need to get out of this stall I have been in for a few weeks.

Thanks for listening, or should I say reading.

judy