My WLS and my school project...

Ithocles
on 12/12/11 12:21 am
I never knew how my beliefs about medical knowledge would impact me before starting this journey.  Six month later, I can really see how it helped me with working through the medical system and all the doctors I had to go see.  It impacted me so much, I made it the topic of my school project...my dissertation.  I'd love to see what you all think and have the diversity here shown in my results.  If you're willing, go to this link and take the survey.  Pass it to any friends and family you have as well.  Thanks so much!

Link:  https://okstateed.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_6JdqtgoNoZ2xAi0

If you can't click the link, just copy and paste it into a browser.

Regards,

Danny

RosieSweetie21
on 12/24/11 10:36 pm
Danny- I just did your survey. It was pretty easy and did not take long. I also had my husband take it.   I am a high school teacher and I always love it when people want to be more educated ! Good Luck on your dissertation (and your weight loss!)  -Rosie
Ithocles
on 1/3/12 11:31 pm
Thank so much Rosie.  I really appreciate it!  It's going pretty good so far, and data collection has been decent.

Sincerely,

Danny

krazykay
on 1/29/12 11:07 am
Just finished your survey and found it thought provoking.

One of the things that I am discovering about myself since WLS  is that I am (finally!) taking more responsibility for monitoring my health. Sure, I still depend on the docs and other medical professionals, but I am tracking my labs, checking my blood pressure, blood sugar levels, taking meds and vits daily instead of sporadically, etc.

Obviously, this is because I can't afford NOT to do this post gastric bypass. In the past I was much more relaxed about these things. In part, I think that my inaction was a form of denial, along the lines of ..."if I didn't get a blood sugar meter then I must not really have diabetes."