How long before back to work at desk job?

njspillman
on 12/8/16 3:15 pm

I am wondering how long of a recovery to expect after surgery, in terms of being able to go back to work at a desk job? 

I don't have a physically demanding job but would a week be long enough time? 

msleesa
on 12/8/16 4:30 pm

I am going back in a week and 1 day.

Bufflehead
on 12/8/16 4:57 pm - TN
VSG on 06/19/13

A week might be long enough, but many people need more time. I have a desk job and took two weeks, probably should have taken three as I was still too exhausted to get through a full day. But your recovery speed is a very individual thing and hard to predict.

White Dove
on 12/8/16 7:00 pm - Warren, OH

I planned on six weeks off, but was back in one week, because I felt fine.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

njspillman
on 12/8/16 7:11 pm

I am a college professor, so I'm wondering if I could schedule to have surgery over spring break. Sounds like its a crap-shoot.....should be ok, but might not be. 

Thanks everyone! I'm trying to do as much research as possible! 

CoachB
on 12/9/16 12:25 pm
VSG on 11/17/16

I teach High School and scheduled it over Thanksgiving Break, Actually the Thursday before.  I was coaching Basketball that Monday so 4 days post op.  I coached three days that week then was off till the following Monday.  No issues at all and when I returned to the classroom I was fine. 

catwoman7
on 12/9/16 5:45 pm
RNY on 06/03/15